dinkelislandsmalltalk

Starting on the Right Note!

1-IMG_3243

For over thirty years Sharon and I have started every year tuned to the Vienna Philharmonic’s New Years Concert.  This year it was fantastic, as always.  We see it as starting the year on the right note.

Music has always been an exciting part of my life.  Two years ago I joined the Chancel Choir at Providence United Methodist Church.  Our crowning achievement came last month when we sang Vivaldi’s “Gloria.” That meant ending the year on the right note.

I often exercise to classical music in the morning.  Frequently I tune it in while driving.  My appreciation goes back to my boyhood years in Cincinnati.  I had a friend, Butch, who lived on the next street over from mine.  His parents were both professional musicians.  They had twin grand pianos in their living room.  I was enthralled hearing them play duets on occasion.

It…

View original post 335 more words

Leave a Reply

