Morning March

dinkelislandsmalltalk

IMG_2508Reading some old letters I wrote home from basic training in the US Army, I see references to marching and close order drill. Those eight weeks of training made me the most physically fit I’ve ever been in my life.  A lot has changed since those days, but I still try to keep up a regular walking pace.  Like Stan Grayson at Dinkel Island (Return of Bliss), I tackle a brisk two-mile walk as many mornings as possible each week.  It pays off in energy, fitness and overall health.

Not long ago I wrote a free-verse poem to capture the flavor of that morning ritual.  It goes like this:

Arms swinging, head erect, face forward,

skinny legs with knobby knees pacing off

a fresh day’s start.

Hup-two-three-four–cadence echoes

decades old but always fresh.  Count cadence,

count:  one, two, three, four.  Once-booted feet

now Nike clad pounding out the beat through

View original post 49 more words

Leave a Reply

