RETROSPECT!

Had a good book signing experience today.  When something like that happens, it reinforces my sense of direction and purpose.  Sometimes I think back over the years and events that bring me to where I am at a given moment.  I call that process RETROSPECT.  A couple of years ago I wrote a free verse poem about that, and decided to share it now.

It all seems like a blur when looking back,

years flying through cognitive space like

trees racing past an express train window.

Then time seeped and dragged and oozed along,

now it flits past leaving the ego trapped like a fly

struggling to find its way through glass to air.

Who am I?  Who are you?  What’s that?  Why?

Here it is!  It works like this!  Now try it again!

I am me.  You are you.  Such is lifeline reality.

The air chills, fog rolls in, sunlight recedes, oblivion

beckons, the siren’s song wails before the inner

conquers the outer, birthing peaceful soul-rest.

Incompleteness rules the day.  Eagerness fuels

the engine of repetitive effort.  Scripture enlightens.

The blur morphs into substance-generating light.

A retrospective look reveals how each small step,

each discovery, each frustration, each success

was a unique cell forming the nucleus of the Now.

104_3170-001

One thought on “RETROSPECT!

Leave a Reply

